Blog Tour|Lost Girl: A Shelby Day Novel (Review & Giveaway)

LostGirlTourBanner-1

Hello!

It’s time for another book review & tour-wide giveaway! Today I have for you a new book alert, along with my review and an international giveaway. Interestingly, this is also the first time I feature a YA Suspense novel on my blog so I’m pretty excited to bring a new aspect in my little bookish corner. 🙂

Without further ado, let’s get this book release party started!

46349908. sy475

Title: Lost Girl (A Shelby Day novel)

Author: Holly Kammier

Publisher: Acorn Publishing

Publication Date: Jan. 5th, 2020

Genres: Young Adult, Suspense, Romance

Synopsis:

AN APPALLING ACT OF VIOLENCE AND AN UNSOLVED DOUBLE MURDER.

SMALL-TOWN INVESTIGATIVE REPORTER, SHELBY DAY, IS DETERMINED TO HUNT A KILLER.

As her search draws closer to uncovering the twisted truth, she begins receiving ominous warnings to stay quiet and drop the story. The young journalist is in danger. Her cameraman and best friend, a person with his own secret past, says he wants to protect her. But Shelby is headstrong and dodging anything that could lead to love. She can’t allow anyone to distract her as she fights for the two women who deserve justice.

She never expects along the way she’ll have to stop and save herself.

Ticktock… If Shelby doesn’t solve the crime soon, she’ll become the killer’s next victim.

“Lost Girl is a compulsive thrill-ride that reads as if it’s been pulled straight from the headlines. Kammier’s journalism background brings undeniable authenticity to a novel that has it all– a love story, a murder mystery, and a real-life introduction into the distinctive world of television news.”
-CAROLINE MITCHELL, New York Times best-selling author

This book is for anyone who loves:
Young Adult love stories
Murder Mystery
Redemption
Books with journalism elements
Intended for a mature YA audience

Fans of Veronica Mars, In The Woods, and One Of Us Is Lying, will love this novel.


Add the book on Goodreads, or purchase it:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo


My Review

***Actual Rating: 3/5 Journalistic Stars***

Prior to reading Lost Girl, I admit that I seldom read books in the Mystery, Thriller, or Suspense genres. Not that I don’t like giving these a shot, it’s just the sound of those stories rarely piques my curiosity enough to motivate me to pick them up. Thus, I’d be lying if I said I was not surprised when the synopsis of Lost Girl intrigued me in a way I’ve never felt before. I mean, I was fairly interested in the mysterious case in Shelby’s small town according to the blurb, so when it’s adorned with all these praises from well-known authors, why not give this book a try?

The first few chapters are pretty promising and easy to read, in my opinion, and it gets me all hyped up with those suspenseful elements, especially when Shelby’s teaming up with her fellow journalists to solve the mystery. I do appreciate the professional journalism terms and confidence oozing from Shelby, which truly elevates the overall reading experience. However, the lack of chemistry between Shelby and her best friend/love interest as well as the all-so-serious narrative in the rest of the story are a real kill-joy.

Generally, I would like to see just a wee bit more connections among all the characters, and on a wishful thought, perhaps throwing some sense of humor into the whole picture would add some spice to everything. Although I’m a little bummed that this book doesn’t turn out to be a game-changer or page-turner for me, and I also don’t think I’ll read anything in the genres of mystery/thriller/suspense anytime soon, I still hope you’ll like this book more than I do if you’d gonna pick it up. 🙂

***Thanks to Xpresso Tours and the author for the blog tour/review opportunity.***


About the Author

Holly

Co-owner of Acorn Publishing, the UCLA honors graduate is an accomplished content editor/writing coach (her authors have gone on to become USA Today best-sellers and a New York Times best-seller). With a background in journalism, Holly Kammier has worked everywhere from CNN in Washington, D.C. and KCOP-TV in Los Angeles, to the NBC affiliate in small-town Medford, Oregon.

She is the best-selling author of the novel, Kingston Court (Acorn Publishing 2015), and Could Have Been Hollywood, a memoir. Holly recently published her third book, Choosing Hope, a harrowing story of passion and deceit, and the things we do for love. Her next novel, the YA Romantic Suspense, Lost Girl, is scheduled for release in early 2020.

Holly resides in her hometown of San Diego, California, close to family and friends. An avid reader with a passion for timeless books and beautiful writing, she also enjoys long walks, romantic movies, and pink peonies.

Author links:

Tour-Wide Giveaway

For a chance to win a $15 Amazon gift card, simply enter HERE!

Only 5 days left, and it’s open international!

Good luck.


All right, that’s about all for today’s blog tour! Thanks so much for dropping by and don’t forget to enter the giveaway above. I wish you all a fantastic weekend and hopefully you’ll read something amazing. 😀

Until next time,

Jasmine 🙂


2 thoughts on “Blog Tour|Lost Girl: A Shelby Day Novel (Review & Giveaway)

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.