Read-to-Review: I Stole His Car (Love at First Crime #1) by Jessica Frances

Bonjour! I’m going to introduce my newly discovered author, Jessica Frances, and her new Adult Romance Suspense novel, I Stole His Car to all of you because she just became one of my top favorite authors! I first knew of her when I saw my friend, Carol, on Goodreads read this book and I admitted I was interested in this book because of the cover she adored this author a lot so I was determined to give her books a try. What’s more, the best thing is that Enticing Journey is having an Amazon Review Tour for this book so I’m like, why not? 😀

I stole His Car ebook

Title: I Stole His Car
Series: Love at First Crime #1
Author: Jessica Frances
Genre: Adult Romance Suspense
Release: September 19, 2017
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35282733-i-stole-his-car

Blurb

She stole his car, so he stole her heart…

I saw something I never should have seen.
I took something they wanted back.
I was desperate.
Alone.
Hunted.
So, I did something I never would have normally done.
I stole a car.
Not just any car.
His car.
Now I have no choice but to trust him.
Only he can help me get out of this mess.
Then, when we both become hunted,
And when feelings begin to complicate things,
Can I still count on his protection?
Can I trust what is happening between us to be real?
Because, as some people say: there is nothing quite like love at first … crime.

 

Buy Links (Kindle Unlimited)

Amazon US: https://tinyurl.com/yauydw7z
Amazon UK: https://tinyurl.com/yat9lwjn
Amazon CA: https://tinyurl.com/yd6cowvp
Amazon AU: https://tinyurl.com/ya5eodlo

 

6x9_Cream_230_I stole his car Formatted

Excerpt

Then Zander’s gaze turns back to me, and I don’t feel so warm and fuzzy toward him anymore. Instead, I feel as though I’m facing a judge and ready to hear the verdict on just how many years I’m about to be thrown in jail.
“You stole my car,” he growls.
“Yes.” No point denying it.
“You kidnapped my twelve-year-old brother.”
“Technically, yes. However, I wasn’t aware he was in the car at the time,” I pathetically try to defend my actions.
“You came back, though, even after I told you I was calling the police.” His stance is stern, but I see the same expression of curiosity that I saw earlier in Van.
“Yes.” I glance around again, waiting to see the flashing lights of a police car approaching in the distance. Instead, I see a lone officer in uniform approaching us.
I don’t recognize him as one of Brian’s friends, but that doesn’t mean he won’t hand me over to him.
I barely even got to enjoy my freedom away from Brian. Well, it technically wasn’t freedom since I was chased the entire time.
Why can’t I just catch a break?
I can’t stop myself from stepping away from the young officer, my body back to being tense and shaky. I hate that this feels normal to me now. It never used to be. Now it feels strange to feel relaxed.
“What’s wrong?” Van asks me, his concern sweet.
“Excuse me, but did I just hear you accuse this woman of stealing your car?” the officer asks, swinging his hand to rest on his side arm in what looks like a reflex.
Silence falls over us. Van looks as panicked as I feel. I can’t read Zander’s face, but he hasn’t confirmed the man’s words. That gives me a small amount of hope. Maybe he is the most forgiving man in the world.

 

review

***Actual rating: 4/5 Stolen Stars***

I Stole His Car was an incredibly written crime novel by Jessica Frances and it was also my first time reading her work. I was deeply intrigued by the synopsis and later, in the first chapter, I knew I’d love this book after seeing our female protagonist, a 24-year-old web designer, Ava, have such an unexpected yet hilarious encounter with our lovely Zander, who was a 28-year-old personal investigator.

To begin with, as the title of the book implied, Ava stole “his” (Zander’s) car AND in the meantime, accidentally kidnapped his younger brother, Van. Well, her day couldn’t get worse than that, right? Nope, since she obviously was a wanted in some sort (because she found out that her always absent ex-boyfriend, Brian—an FBI agent—turned out to be a sick pervert, who loved to watch BDSM videos and inflict sexual tortures on homeless women), she had no choice but to spill everything to Zander, considering that he was generous enough to offer her a safe place to stay and then make sure she was well-fed. We knew that Zander worked as a personal investigator so he tended to take his clients’ requests seriously, and Ava’s was no exception.

What both of them didn’t know was how ugly the truth about Brian’s sexual preference was. The more Zander and his teammates discovered, the darker the story became. Apparently, Brian was not the only one FBI agent who enjoyed hurting, torturing, raping and murdering those helpless women; his colleagues and fellow police officers from a majority of police departments across the country were secretly involved. Hence, could Zander trust his police friends/information sources enough to fight against Brian’s men? Would those sickos retaliate by destroying Zander and Ava?

Honestly, I wasn’t expecting this book to be so…unforgettable. I mean, according to the synopsis, I initially thought it’d be an instalove story since Ava stole Zander’s car right away in the first chapter (and there were only 11 chapters in the book). But later on, I realized how hard it was to put down this book because of the amazing character developments and plots.

Let’s start with Zander and Ava’s—friendship? Relationship? Boss and Client’s relationship?—whatever it was between them, I was stunned by how well-mannered Zander was! Instead of being mad with her stealing his car, he managed to put Van’s best interests (the brothers didn’t get along well but Van LOVED Ava when he was literally kidnapped) above his own and offered to help/take care of her.

During this week, we have kept the same new routine of sleeping in bed together. I’m always under the covers, while Zander drapes his own blanket over himself as he sleeps on top.

Even when Zander was digging more into Brian’s criminal evidences, a.k.a. those horrific videos from the USB Ava cleverly hid, he still protected her from any possible second-time emotional wreck.

He has seen those awful videos, and I know it’s eating away at him. Therefore, holding me and having me in his arms reminds him that, by helping me that night, he saved me from that happening to me. And maybe feeling me against him all night gives him more strength to get back up and do it all again the next day.

My heart completely melted by his sympathy and thoughtfulness because I never expected him to be someone so considerate. Frankly speaking, I absolutely adored Zander’s personality in this book and that was also why I didn’t mind his huge-makeout-session with Ava afterwards. Umm, okay, maybe something MORE THAN making out. Go figure. *blush*

There is something surreal about this moment. We are two people who are completely naked, standing in a bathroom of a house we have only been inside of for not even half an hour, and we just had incredible sex.

Not gonna lie, their first time in the bathroom was probably one of the hottest scenes I’d ever read so yeah, I wasn’t complaining at all. 😛

Aside from the romantic elements in this book, I also appreciated the issues the author addressed in the story. As I mentioned before, this book focused on the sexual scandal of not only an FBI agent—someone in such a respectable position—but an entire group of admirable workers in our society. What happened in the story was unbelievably awful; it was ten thousand times worse than mere corruption. People had already despised political corruptions a lot, but sexual scandals where innocent girls were treated like wild animals? Ugh, I couldn’t even begin to fathom how far people like Brian were willing to go or how much they were going to risk in exchange for financial aids/simple thrills.

Corruptions might be mainly about money or fame in a certain group of people from the social hierarchy whereas sexual scandals in the book brought the under-the-table deal to a whole new criminal level. Zander and Ava’s story brought awareness to the readers that there were still many f**k-ups in the reality but either we didn’t pay that much attention to them or we did realize how little help we could offer to stop such things from happening, the truth was, let’s face it, these incidents were still emerging in an endless stream.

All I wanted to say was that Jessica Frances took a seemingly ordinary crime story up a notch and this book would get you thinking. I was truly impressed by how well-done a crime story could be. Although I Stole His Car was just a fictional story, it was so much bigger than itself. It wasn’t easy for Zander and Ava to eradicate crime and there were times when both of them almost sacrificed themselves, but in the end, those were what made this book all the more worthy of reading.

”That’s twice I thought you were dead. Two times you’ve cheated death,” I tell him, my voice shaky.
“I was sure I had lost you, too. Let’s not do this again to each other, okay?” He squeezes me to him. His words are light, but his meaning is heavy.
“Okay.”


Now you must be wondering why I didn’t give this story a solid 5-star when I praised so highly of it. *eyebrow arched* Well, let me explain a little. Yes, I LOVED the characters, the twists and the story arrangements. I also adored the depth in the crime development. The writing style was super easy to get used to so I liked it as well. Basically, I enjoyed reading 90% of this book. HOWEVER, THE LAST 10% OF THE STORY SORT OF RUINED ALL MY LOVE FOR THE PREVIOUS PARTS!!!!! I mean, since the bad guys got their punishment and these sexual scandals were no longer hidden in the dark, the story might as well draw a happy ending right there. I would be really satisfied if the story simply ended at chapter 10 even though it was slightly shorter than the original version. Don’t get me wrong, it was still a happy ending but I didn’t like the further development in Zander and Ava’s relationship.

I had no idea where or why Ava started making a big deal out of nothing, regarding her maturity in her characteristics before. Then something unexpected happened and I just couldn’t even. *SIGH* *TAKING A DEEP BREATH* I just thought the ending lacked the intensity we had in 90% of the story previously so I was sorry to say that it cost 1 star from my overall rating.

Despite my disliking for the ending, I still HIGHLY RECOMMENDED I Stole His Car!!!!! The story seriously tackled some important social issues and the romance was undoubtedly something worth appreciating!

***Thanks to the Enticing Journey Blog Tour and the author for providing an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review. ***

 

About the Author

Copy of Biography PhotoBorn and raised in South Australia, Jessica spends her days working in a bakery, afternoons catching up on lost sleep, and nights reading and writing. Writing has always been a passion of hers, however it wasn’t until recently that she decided to put pen to paper and make things official.

Email  Facebook  Goodreads Amazon Website

 

 

 

That’s all for today’s new author and new book! I hope you’ll love this book as much as I did and I’m looking forward to the second book in this series, I Knocked Him Out, which will come out on the last day of October!

Thank y’all for reading!

See ya next time,

Jasmine 🙂

5 thoughts on “Read-to-Review: I Stole His Car (Love at First Crime #1) by Jessica Frances

    1. Hahaha, really?!! The cover immediately caught my eyes when I first saw it. LOL Ah! That’s so great to know that you’ve added a book because of ME! You’re making me super happy, Audrey! So thank you!! ❤ If you want to read it, please let me know what you think afterwards! I'd love to know your thought. ^____^

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thank you so much for signing up for the review tour, for taking the time to read I Stole His Car, and for such an amazing review. I am in love with it! I appreciate you giving me a try (love Carol haha!) and for your support. X ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww, you’re too nice!! Thanks for reading my review, btw! Heehee, Carol has a fantastic taste in books so I can’t wait to read your other works ASAP. 😉😉 P.S. I’m also VERY excited for the upcoming new release, I Knocked Him Out!!!! 🎉🎉

      Like

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

