Waiting on Wednesday #1: The Becoming of Noah Shaw by Michelle Hodkin (+ARC Contest!)

Surprise, surprise!

Look what we’ve got here…the very first bookish meme on Life of A Simple Reader! *heart eyes* To begin with, I’ve always wanted to do these kinds of posts, such as “Top 10 Tuesday”, “Waiting on Wednesday” or “It’s Monday! What are you reading?” but never pluck up the courage to try them. 😛

Today I can no longer contain my excitement for the upcoming (umm…3 months to go, though) release by one of my most favorite authors, Michelle Hodkin (author of the Mara Dyer Trilogy), The Becoming of Noah Shaw, which will come out on November 7th, 2017!!! Therefore, I finally start writing my first post for the “Waiting on Wednesday” thread; in case you’re interested, this meme was created by Jill from Breaking the Spine where bloggers talk about their most coveted upcoming new releases.

 As many of you may know, I’m a HUGE fan of Mara Dyer trilogy. I was completely hooked by Michelle Hodkin’s storytelling skill and her writing style. Although 99% of the time I dared not read thrillers/mystery, I couldn’t put The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer down once I started reading it. See, now you know how undeniably addictive Miss Hodkin’s books are, right?

That’s why I’m extremely excited for this one…

25548744

The Becoming of Noah Shaw is the first book in The Shaw Confessions series, which is based in the Dyerverse but this time, we get to view Mara’s world through Noah’s eyes.

Everyone thinks seventeen-year-old Noah Shaw has the world on a string.

They’re wrong.

Mara Dyer is the only one he trusts with his secrets and his future.

He shouldn’t.

And both are scared that uncovering the truth about themselves will force them apart.

They’re right. (Goodreads)

OMG. Doesn’t the synopsis sound creepy and terrifying and captivating to you?! Well, it surly does for me. I seriously can’t wait to see how dark and mysterious this book is because even the author herself said The Becoming of Noah Shaw is “the DARKEST book” she’s ever written so far.

Honestly, I didn’t know there was a sneak peek from this book until a few weeks ago so you could check the excerpt HERE! Aside from the first chapter available, Michelle Hodkin also shared a new snippet/teaser on her website:

“Are you ever going to tell me? What you saw?”
“Yes.”
“When?”
“Tomorrow.”
She bites her lower lip, but she’s really biting back words. I close the space between us and kiss her before she can speak.
Her body is stiff at first, but she begins to melt in seconds. Just as she reaches for the back of my neck, I pull away and ask, “Have you seen the rest of the flat?”
A single shake.
“Would you like to?”
A single nod.
“Follow.” I turn away from her and pass the office without opening the door.
We turn the first corner. “How many bedrooms did you say there are?”
“Six.”
“Which one’s ours?”
“Tonight, all of them.”

The most challenging part is that she’s hosting an ARC Contest on her Tumblr page since she only has 4 review copies to giveaway at the moment. In short, you could enter the contest by the following 4 ways:

  • Make MADNESS art. Basically, all forms of artwork (e.g. Drawing, painting, sculpting, photographing…) count as long as they’re Mara Dyer-related.
  • Write something Mara Dyer series-inspired. Fanfiction, poems, a short story…etc.
  • Film something related to the series. Fanvid, booktube, short film/movie and whatnot.
  • Rando! Cosplay, jewelry, MADNESS-related tattoos and anything alike.

If you’d like to enter the contest, all you need to do is submit your file to the above link before August 21st and GOOD LUCK! 🙂

As for me, I’m gonna begin counting down to its release day. JUST 90 DAYS TO GO. 90 DAYS…


Let’s chat!

What about you? Are you guys excited to read this one? Or will you enter the contest and possibly win one of the precious ARCs? Or have you requested this book on NetGalley already? Let me know in the comment below! ❤

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

