Review: Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer #1) by Laini Taylor

28449207The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

Welcome to Weep. (From: Goodreads)

***Actual Rating: 2/5 Weeping Stars***

[UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT]

HOW COULD YOU NOT LOVE THIS BOOK??????


I know, I know. I feel super terrible for not being able to enjoy reading this as much as the majority of you do because I just can’t immerse myself into the story. > < I tried so hard with Laini’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone series and had the same issue with her writing style. I agree that her words are incredibly poetic and beautiful, her characters and story building are fantastic and her way of telling story is probably one of the best among all YA novelists.

BUT THE PROBLEM IS…I CAN’T FEEL ANYTHING THROUGH HER WORDS.

They’re indeed full of flourish and it should be a pleasure to read; unfortunately, I have to admit her works are not for me. No matter how many times I pick up her books, I still feel so distant from the characters and everything happens in the story.

SO, I’M SORRY, GUYS, I DON’T ENJOY THIS ONE AS WELL AS HER OTHER BOOKS AND I PROBABLY WON’T TRY HER FUTURE WORKS, EITHER. But I still hope y’all love it MUCH MORE than I do! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Review: Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer #1) by Laini Taylor

  1. I was thinking, “another race review” when I saw that it was Strange. Then I saw the rating and I was kind of glad! There’s no such thing as a perfect book, a book that everyone loves. There just isn’t. If everyone did, then something is seriously wrong with that book to me.
    I think her writing style is quite different and it was hard for me…but I got used to it bc I really wanted to know what all the fuss was about in the DOSAB series. I haven’t read Strange yet, but I feel a bit better knowing that if I don’t like it, there’s nothing wrong with me!! 😂
    I applaud you, dear!! Thank you for your honesty when it comes to this book! If you don’t like it, you don’t like it!! I hope the next one you read is outstanding to make up for this! 😊😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, Stephanie! It’s amazing how your comments always make me feel relieved. Thank you so much, darling! When I read DoSaB, I used to tell myself that I should like the book because of the hype and unbelievably high rating, but when I didn’t, I convinced myself that I would after a few tries later. Sadly, I failed to feel what most people felt about that series (or Laini’s books in general), I finally got to be honest with myself and admitted how impossible for me to enjoy them.
      So I’m really happy that you succeeded in getting what people loved about her books! And hopefully, you’ll also enjoy this one because according to my friends, if you liked Laini’s writing style, you’d love Strange immensely! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read this book, but I’ve seen it around alot, and then when i read the blurb, i was like what? Why is everyone freaking out about this? I don’t know but honestly I don’t like the idea of the story, thats why i didn’t pick it up. Your review is really awesome and honest! Ilove it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I can totally relate! I’ve tried several times with Laini’s Daughter of Smoke and Bones but however hard I tried, I just couldn’t immerse myself in her stories. >< So yeah, I don't understand the hype. lol
      That's cool!! Sometimes I still pick up books people keep ranting about even though I'm not interested in the blurb. And then I always have some unpopular opinions on those highly-rated books. :') *sorry not sorry*
      Aww, thank you so much! :-** Do you think you'll read this or other Laini's books sometime later?

      Like

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

