Posted in Catagorized by authors, Jennifer L. Armentrout, New Adults

Review: Wait for You (Wait for You #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

17314430Some things are worth waiting for…

Traveling thousands of miles from home to enter college is the only way nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten can escape what happened at the Halloween party five years ago—an event that forever changed her life. All she needs to do is make it to her classes on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe—please God—make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself.

Some things are worth experiencing…

Cameron Hamilton is six feet and three inches of swoon-worthy hotness, complete with a pair of striking blue eyes and a remarkable ability to make her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere, with his charm, his witty banter, and that damn dimple that’s just so… so lickable. Getting involved with him is dangerous, but when ignoring the simmering tension that sparks whenever they are around each other becomes impossible, he brings out a side of her she never knew existed.

Some things should never be kept quiet…

But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she’s has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her or will he be dragged down with her?

And some things are worth fighting for… (From: Goodreads)

***Actual Rating: 5/5 Camery Stars***

 

“You’re a good guy, Cam.”
“No, I’m not.” He exhaled deeply and his breath was warm against my cheek.
“I’m only good with you.”

Since the book mainly focuses on Cam and Avery’s story, I’ll just point out my top favorite scenes between them and what you could expect from this book. First of all, their encounter with each other is super cute because Avery, our adorable female protagonist, literally crashes into Cam (Cameron) on her way to her first astronomy class in college. Let me ensure you that it’s not cliché or cheesy at all, okay? Imagine Cam sees a red-headed strawberry shortcake girl running towards his direction without noticing him. *fangirling x daydreaming*

After they met, Avery is such a lucky girl for living right next to Cam in their apartment so *insert a very special guest* Raphael the Turtle becomes her first impression on Cam and his lifestyle. I absolutely adore their connection through his pet turtle because who would ever walk a turtle? It’s not only the most hilarious idea I’ve seen but also softens the awkwardness between Cam and Avery.

Enough spotlight for Raphael, let’s move on to the further development of Camery, shall we? The story won’t be perfect without the main characters’ interesting pasts so at first, Cam did notice the way Avery behaved whenever he mentioned some certain issues but he daren’t think much of it. After getting along with her for awhile, his presumption was confirmed when he finally discovered the truth which she’s been hiding since the beginning. It’s really heartbreaking when she’s the one to tell him and it’s understandable for the consequences they both need to face.

Before Cam unveiled her secrets, he’s always the sweetest cinnamon roll (as my friend, Nastassja, would definitely put it) I’ve never seen and he’s also the dreamiest boyfriend material any girl could dream of. The best part in this story is how Cam tries to show his affection toward her without too many steamy or PG-rated intentions. I seriously live for their funny banters and bickering because haha, I just can’t even!

I took a drink. “I guess it’s different for you.”
“Hmm?”
“I bet you have girls hanging all over you. Dozens would probably kill to be in my spot and here I am, allergic to your bread.

Hahahahaha, that’s truly epic, I must say. I mean, most girls won’t be that blunt when a hot guy cooks for you, will they?
Furthermore, I also enjoy reading the parts where Camery interact with their mutual friends/roommates because their friendship is the healthy and lovely kind. Unlike some ordinary love stories when the couple totally ignore their friends after they’re spending time together. Anyway, here’s a sneak peek of what I mean…

“But we’re your friends,” Jacob sounded so pitiful that I started to feel bad. He turned to Cam. “We totally support her going out with you.”
Okay. I didn’t feel bad for him.

See? Aren’t friends supposed to be that supportive when time comes? LOL
Another top favorite, if not the BEST, Camery scene in the book, it’s when Cam surprises Avery because she spends her holiday alone while her friends, including Cam, are reuniting with their families faraway.

My brain clicked off. I didn’t even shut the front door or feel the cool air washing over my bare ankles. I shot forward, crossing the distance between my door and kitchen. Cam turned just as I launched myself at him.
He caught me and stumbled back a step as he caught me with his arms around my waist. I buried my head against his chest, eyes closed and my heart thumping. “I missed you.”

No kidding. I can’t be more touched than that moment.
Well, all these precious, swoon scenes are the before. After he found out what really happened to Avery, Cam was as devastated as she was and basically, the two of them were totally heartbroken. Mercifully, they somehow manage to work out what remains in their newly-started relationship. I’m delightful to say that with everything clears between them, their love story becomes a better one. One with minor flaws and perfect imperfections. One that’s worthy of pursuing.

Overall, it’s a bittersweet love story with a happy ending (for me). Once again, I’m impressed and overwhelmed by Jennifer L. Armentrout’s writing style and her excellent story telling skill. Cam and Avery will always be my most favorite OTP because their story is the most touching one I’ve ever read. Highly recommend Wait for You to everyone. You won’t regret meeting Camery.

Author:

Hello there! I'm Jasmine and this is my one and only book blog. Reading and reviewing books are my hobbies so I enjoy sharing my passion for them here on my blog. Besides, I mostly read YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age and Dystopian books. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day!

10 thoughts on “Review: Wait for You (Wait for You #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

    1. Same here!!! I love ALL of her books except The Problem with Forever (haha, I think the writing style isn’t like hers :P) and the best part is that she’s going to publish more books this year! 😀 Can’t wait for the third book in Titans Series. ^___^ Thanks, lovely!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. sadly, i haven’t read Lux and The covenant series. Have your read the Mortal Instruments series? I love that series so much and I go for Kasie West’s books for contemporary . 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. YOU HAVE TO READ BOTH OF THEM SOON, like NOW!!!! They’re really unputdownable to me. 😛 Oh, I have yet to read TMI but I really want to. The movie with Lily Collins as Clary is so good! Though I’ve read the first book in The Inferno Device trilogy. Speaking of Contemporaries, I plan to read The Fill-In Boyfriend this year, which is also my first book written by her. I strongly recommend The Unexpected Everything and Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson! Both stories are really heart-warming! ^^

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 🙂 SO I have added both series to my TBR. I would read them soon I promise,i have read a lot of good reviews about the series. 🙂

            For me, The infernal Device Triology is less likeable than the TMI. And yes the movie was great, better than the adaptation series.

            I totally agree about The Unexpected Everything and Second Chance summer. I have read them both last year and it was really good. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

