Corrupt Me Blog Tour Day 1: Author’s Interview

blog 2 first.png

Hello! Welcome to my very first blog tour ever! It’s the first day of my part in this entire Corrupt Me Blogosphere and it’s my interview with our lovely author, Jillian Quinn! *applause & cheers*

First up, I can’t thank Jillian enough for holding this tour and it’s time to know more about her and Corrupt Me. 😀

There are two parts in this interview, including the yummelicious, exclusive information about Corrupt Me and something personal about Jillian herself! So let’s get started!

About Corrupt Me

Q1: How did you come up with the idea of the story in Corrupt Me? What inspired you before writing it?

A: I was having one of my Mafia movie binge days, switching from the movie Goodfellas to The Godfather, both of which are my favorite movies of all time, and I started to think about the relationships between both Karen and Henry in Goodfellas as well as Michael and Kay in The Godfather. Karen was strong and stood up to Henry, and I always respected her for that, where Kay backed down to Michael and let him control her and the kids until she finally had the nerve to leave him. Izzie’s character was inspired by the portrayal of Karen Hill by Lorriane Bracco in Goodfellas.

Q2: How long did it take for you to finish the entire book? What’s the most difficult part in the process (e.g. editing, proof-reading…)?

A: I wrote the first 45,000 words of the book in three days. Then, I decided to go a different direction. Overall, after editing out the parts I didn’t need and adding new chapters, it took about three months to write and edit. The hardest part of writing a novel, at least for me, is editing. Writing is the easy part, in my opinion.

Q3: Does the story reflect on certain aspects from your personal experience or it’s simply fictional?

A: Corrupt Me is entirely fictional. Strickland University, the college campus from the book, is a combination of  University of Pennsylvania (UPenn) and Temple University, set in the proximity of Piece College on Broad Street, where I graduated from college. I also went to Temple University and had a lot of friends that were in a fraternity. I was also friends with the president of the fraternity who had a bedroom very similar to the one in Corrupt Me, where he let my friends and me hang out so we didn’t have to deal with drunken frat guys. I guess I have a soft spot for fraternity guys, which is why I chose Luca as the president of his fraternity.

Q4: What’s the purpose of writing this story? Is there any specific reason to write something about Mafia?

A: I love mafia movies and TV shows. I wrote Corrupt Me because I have always been interested in the Mafia. I also have a degree in law, because at one point, I was considering going to law school. I always liked the idea of becoming a federal prosecutor and learned a lot about RICO, the laws they prosecute the Mafia under, and it sort of made sense to combine my love of the law, college, and the Mafia into one book.

About the author

Q5: How did you begin writing? Have you always wanted to be a writer since you were little?

A: I wrote my first short story when I was old enough to hold a pen. I always liked to tell stories and my mom was good at making up her own, which is where I get it. Not until I started working from home did I have enough free time to dedicate to writing, and I haven’t stopped writing since.

Q6: Have you ever encountered a writer’s block? If yes, how did you overcome it? If no, what are your tips to stay creative?

A: Yes. Writer’s block is the absolute worst. To cure the dreaded block, I usually take a week off, watch a lot of TV, and read books. That helps to clear my head. You need to be relaxed when you write, and if you’re staring at a blank screen, it is not doing you any good. I also listen to music when I’m writing. I have playlists that I listen to when I want to get into my characters’ heads.

Q7: What’s your work schedule like when you’re writing?

A: I recently finished my first hockey romance novel, Parker, the next book I am releasing on February 14th. I only gave my beta reader and myself one month, which is a tight deadline. I typically try not to set dates like that so I can have a clear head when I write. I mostly write at night when the house is quiet and I can think straight.

Q8: Who’s your favorite author of all time? Does he/she inspire you in some ways? Please explain.

A: My favorite author of all time is Stephen King, and while I am a romance author, I recently dabbled in writing a short horror story for my blog followers called, Circus of Blood, that I wrote for Halloween. Stephen King is such a brilliant author. I have learned so many things about the craft of writing from reading his books and learning about his writing process.

That’s all, lovelies! Thanks to the author for giving me such detailed answers!

If you’re interested in stalking knowing more about the author, you could find her official bio and links here:

jillian-quinn

Jillian Quinn was born and raised in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and currently lives in sunny Cape Coral, Florida where she still pretends it’s okay to drink hot chocolate and curl up on the couch with a good book, even when it’s ninety degrees outside. From an early age, writing and storytelling have been her passion. In her spare time, she loves creating fictional worlds and living inside the minds of her characters as well as reading, art, and watching basketball and hockey. Jillian is also a successful book blogger, dubbed by her followers as The Queen of Rants after making her blog, Rant and Rave About Books, a popular destination in the bookish community because of her honesty and passion for books. Corrupt Me is her first novel with other young adult and new adult titles to follow.

Facebook | Twitter | Author Website | Goodreads Profile

Thanks for reading this, folks! Review for Corrupt Me and Jillian’s guest post about Mafia movies to come in the next two days! Don’t go anywhere! 😛

See ya soon! xoxo

 

6 thoughts on “Corrupt Me Blog Tour Day 1: Author’s Interview

        1. Haha, just like you, I really enjoy bringing new authors’ books to more readers’ attention. 😛 Although I think you do a better job in promoting them! 😀

          Like

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

