Posted in Young Adults

Review: Barely Breathing (Breathing #2) by Rebecca Donovan

13454149Emma’s struggle with an abusive home life came to a heart pounding conclusion in the final chapters of “Reason to Breathe”. Now everyone in Weslyn knows Emma’s secret, but Carol can’t hurt Emma anymore. Some are still haunted by the horror of that night, and some must face the repercussions of their choices. Fans of Rebecca Donovan’s debut novel will discover there’s still much to learn about Emma’s life.  (From: Goodreads)

***Actual Rating: 4/5 Panting Stars***

After that ending in the first book, I was feeling both glad and devastated for Emma. To begin with, she seemed to finally gain her control over herself and got out of that terrible house. However, moving in with her mother, who obviously wasn’t responsible for her well-being and was drunk most of the time, was just the beginning of another miserable stage of her life. I couldn’t help but wondered why on earth could Emma be so frustrated and helpless all the time?

Anyway, all we need to know is that she got over it this time and again, like the previous book, the story contained several violent acts and brutal fights, so for me, the trilogy was age-restricted. I couldn’t say she grew a lot from her past, but at least this time, she dealt with her horrifying situation better.

MUCH, MUCH to my disappointment, there was an unwanted love triangle going on and I did not like a thing about it. Besides, I seriously didn’t understand the purpose of this love tri at all. It didn’t make sense to me, not when I spied the inevitable sparks between Emma and Jonathan, and of course not when they seemed to look like a thing later.

Other than the love triangle, I was satisfied with the flow of story so far and it was to be continued…

Author:

Hello there! I'm Jasmine and this is my one and only book blog. Reading and reviewing books are my hobbies so I enjoy sharing my passion for them here on my blog. Besides, I mostly read YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age and Dystopian books. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day!

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

