Review: Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas

28260587The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down? (From: Goodreads)

***Actual Rating: 2/5 Sadistic Stars***

***Mild Spoilers Ahead!***

I kid you not, this is such a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT I’ve ever had in my entire life. A part of me couldn’t and wouldn’t believe this was what my top favorite author, Queen Sarah J. Maas had written at all. I mean, I was too disappointed to utter any words after finally finishing this book. It’s been a complete torment for me to get into the story picking up shortly after what was left in the previous book, Queen of Shadows.

The biggest problem in this book is that there are too many stories told at the same time. I did understand why the author made such arrangement in her way of telling stories because in the end, the loose ends were wrapped up. However, I found myself harder to relate to all the characters immediately when they were jumping from here to there. Besides, it’s even more difficult to connect with the previous piece of story if you didn’t finish reading them in a go.

The second reason I disliked the book is that there are too many couples. Normally, I wouldn’t mind having many couples or love interests for different protagonists in a story, but nonetheless, every single main character was paired up with someone else (though I did notice the leading toward this in Queen of Shadows) and they had some intimacy from time to time. I didn’t know why this development irked me so much; perhaps it was the similarity in SJM’s books. There was indeed no surprising originality nor was there anything worth anticipating in the book.

What’s worse, as much as I loved romance and a little bit of swoon-worthy scenes in most sorts of books I read, the sex scenes the author promised us were terribly unnecessary! I’m sorry to say this, but NONE of them melted my heart or moved me to happy tears in this installment. 😦 When you realize most of the couples in this story were having sex/sharing intimate moments, you wouldn’t find your ship’s anything special or precious enough to cherish. For example, I was shipping Rowan and Aelin a ton before so undoubtedly, I was looking forward to their holy sex. However, I wasn’t expecting other ships like Manon & Dorian, Lysandra & Aedion, Elide & Lorcan, or maybe in the future, those 12 witches may end up with some unexpected males from the cadre, were doing similar, if not exactly the same, things Rowaelin had done. Could someone please tell me what makes theirs the most special one?

Lastly, even though about 98% of the book is a total disaster for me, I did enjoy reading the FINAL 3 CHAPTERS. Somehow the author’s writing style got back to her typical tone and the story turned out to have an amazing ending. I was seriously impressed that there’s finally something makes this book worth reading.

To sum up, Empire of Storms somehow reminds me why I hated the Throne of Glass series when I first picked it up a year ago. I mean, I hated the usual arrogance in 90% of her main characters and I hated that all the leaders or males deem themselves as invincible and undefeatable. And unfortunately, that initial hatred for the series once again washed away my later-love for the entire story when reading this one. Although the ending was great, I don’t think the next and final installment will be one of my most-anticipated books in 2017. Sorry, Sarah, but this time, I have an unpopular opinion on your book.

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

