Review: The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) by Rick Yancey

16131489The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human. (From: Goodreads)

 

***Actual rating: 3/5 We-Are-One Stars***

 

They rest in us and we in them. Our heart contains all others. One heart, one life, on the advent of a mayfly’s final flight.

After finishing the book(huh, finally), I felt like being brainwashed over and over again so all you need to know what this book’s about is that WE ARE HUMANITY AND WE ARE ONE . Why does it sound like a song?

In the first 288 pages, it’s just a story about small kids holding sidearms and guns like a teddy bear; they don’t remember ABCs but know how to make bombs; they’re a bunch of children who know how to shoot people with green lights around their heads without blinking, annihilate humanity, and change human nature.

Everything is utterly twisted here. At first I thought maybe it was inevitable when living in an alien-infested world like that, but later I was like, oh, okay, so people can just kill whoever is in their way and still get a nice sleep at night and no need to feel guilty at all because that’s how it works and we just have to adapt. Don’t blame me but this is what the book made me.

Thus, in my most genuine opinion, I think what’s really worthy of reading is the final 50 pages and that’s all. You don’t necessarily need to know what happened before these pages (and to save your innocent hearts) because like I said, I barely knew what was going on 80% of the book. And still, I managed to understand something (well, that’s a bit overestimated) from page 289 to page 338. You’ll find the truth about humanity and how mayfly’s sacrifice effects the rest of the survivors. Basically, the entire trilogy is all connected, from The 5th Wave to The Infinite Sea and lastly, The Last Star. However, I can assure you that I don’t like where the story leads and how it ends.

The ending is…, well, I have no words because it reminds me of that of Allegiant in the Divergent series, which I absolutely didn’t enjoy. But at the same time, there’s no loose end eventually and it’s not that bad, either. *I have no idea what I’m talking about because I kind of lost the ability to form a complete thinking after the virtual apocalypse.*

Anyway, reading this book is like watching the movie, Inception and reading another book called The Host in the meanwhile. That’s what it is. When you combine their stories together and you’ll get The Last Star. Embrace yourself for further confusion and uncertainty.

Last but not least, if you decide not to read this one, here’s the briefing:
1) VQP=Vincit qui patitur (latin)= He conquers who endures.
2) We are humanity and we are one. Our name is Cassiopeia.
3) Mayfly finally takes flight.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) by Rick Yancey

  1. The 5th wave is my favorite book ever, and I did everything to get the last star when it was out (english books are rare in my country and expensive) I got it in august and I read it in one day I think but THIS BOOK DESTROYED ME! I wanted to like the end, but I just couldn’t, I actually liked the 200 first pages (it had a meaning) but can someone please tell me WHAT THE HELL WAS GOING ON THE 50 LAST PAGES?? (they died, no they’re alive, he killed her no she killed him, I AM HUMANITY and the nine months later: baby, happy family)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knooooooooowwwwww how you felt, Salma!!!!!!!! It torn me apart completely with that ending as well and I don’t even want to think about it at all. 😥 I mean, the first two books are so good but the finale is just…there’s no word to describe the emptiness and confusion I had then.
      *sigh* I can hardly accept the so-called “humanity” and ugh, my poor Evan…don’t know why the author made such a heartbreaking decision for Cassie and Evan’s future.

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

