Posted in Young Adults

Review: Inferno (Blood for Blood #2) by Catherine Doyle

25022128

Romeo and Juliet meets The Godfather in the second installment of Catherine Doyle’s Blood for Blood series.

Sophie’s life has been turned upside-down, and she’s determined to set things right. But Nic, the Falcone brother who represents everything she’s trying to forget, won’t give up on their love – and it’s Luca’s knife she clutches for comfort. Soon another mafia clan spoils the fragile peace – and with her heart drawn in one direction and her blood in another, Sophie’s in deeper than ever. (From: Goodreads)

 

 

***Actual rating: 5/5 Unexpected Stars***

 

Fidelitate Coniuncti.

What a spectacular book! To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much for this one after reading the previous book, Vendetta but Catherine Doyle didn’t disappoint me at all. *happy dancing*

In the beginning, Sophie struggled to embrace all those truths she had found out (Jack, the Falcones, and even their vendetta, the Marino family) and she realized that she could never get out of this mayhem. She couldn’t pretend to be a normal 17-year-old girl having a happy vacation and hanging out with her best friend, Millie, like they used to be. Her life was forever changed in that her uncle, Jack, had got into serious trouble that he didn’t even know the risk himself.

I was tired of being swayed this way and that by people with corrupt morals and pretty words. I was tired of hearing people out, of giving the benefit of the doubt only to have it thrown back in my face.

Simply put, she was devastated but at the same time, she became more mature, and I really loved her as a character. What impressed me most was the fact that she’d come such a long way to be shaped into the Sophie she is now.

I guess no one can be painted with just one brush. There is light and shade in all of us, pain and hardship, and some of us rise from it while others are darkened by it.

As for the romance, Sophie’s relationship with Nic Falcone went from bad to worse in this book.

We were both just a couple of liars with blood on our hands and agendas more important than our trust in one another.

It’s more obvious to see that they didn’t and probably never loved each other this entire time.

“That’s the wrong answer.”
“What’s the right answer?”
“The fact that you don’t know says it all.”

Nic was all about family glory and pride; he cared about his position and profession as an assassin in the Mafia circle more than his love, as he claimed it.

Every second seemed to pull him further away from the boy I had thought he was, and I was starting to wonder if I had tricked myself–if the feeling of needing someone, of wanting someone to want me in a world where everyone had turned their back on me, had masked the truth of everything.

In the first book, I would never put Sophie and Nic’s brother, Luca, in the same sentence; I mean, he showed extreme hatred the first time he saw her and also warned her to stay away from Nic many times and blah blah blah. However, his attitude towards Sophie had a 180-degree change since the start of the book, or maybe the last part of Vendetta. Moreover, his behavior betrayed his typical icy look and softened whenever Sophie was around. *squee!!!!!!!!!!!!!*

“You’re like … a rare artefact. And it would be a shame if you got broken.”

Hopefully, my suspicion about their sparks of love is right! *Please let it be!*

“I cared that the Marino standing in front of my entire family with a red target on her forehead was the only Marino in the history of the world that I have ever and will ever care about.”

Aside from the romance, the author added more in-depth ideas in Inferno compared to Vendetta. Catherine captured the psychological moment in human beings perfectly and she depicted our deepest desire, fear, and the most primal reactions when dealing with tough decisions really well. Unlike the simple yet shallow descriptions in the previous book, this time, she managed to bring a Mafia story to a whole new level and somehow successfully resonated with the readers.

“He will always place himself where the threat is greatest. And that’s how I know he’s outside that door right now.”

She used short stories and pieces of memory from Sophie and other characters to explain the logistic of human behavior along with our mind; therefore, she also brought life and colors into those characters. Thanks to her new writing technique, I was able to feel connected and experience the remaining journey with Sophie.

At about 70% of the story, there was an incredibly unexpected twist which gave the initial plot a sharp turn and I freaking LOVE it. More secrets were revealed and once again, Sophie had to cope with the consequences completely alone. And this time, guess what? I’m confident that she’ll get through them like a badass rebel. Besides, she’s too hard to kill. *death glare with evil grin*

If I had learnt anything these past few weeks, it was to expect the unexpected. And trust no one.

Undoubtedly, I was extremely surprised by how much the story had improved and I’m 200% sure Blood for Blood is definitely a worth-reading-trilogy for everyone. To sum up, there are just too many unpredictable things could happen in the next installment! I seriously can’t wait to find out how far will my beloved “Luphie” go and what’ll happen between the Mafia enemies. *counting down to Jan. 5th, 2017 already……*

 

Author:

Hello there! I'm Jasmine and this is my one and only book blog. Reading and reviewing books are my hobbies so I enjoy sharing my passion for them here on my blog. Besides, I mostly read YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age and Dystopian books. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day!

2 thoughts on “Review: Inferno (Blood for Blood #2) by Catherine Doyle

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

