Posted in Young Adults

Review: The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave #2) by Rick Yancey

16131484How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Othersโ€™ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends havenโ€™t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate. (From: Goodreads)

 

**Actual rating: 4/5 Infinite Stars**

Even the stars will wink out one by one and there will be no light or heat, and this is the war, the endless, futile war against the lightless, heatless void rushing toward us.

[Impressive Reading Experience]
Oh, wow, the most enjoyable thing while reading this is that I’m completely amazed by how perfect and powerful Rick Yancey‘s words are. He’s indeed an extraordinary writer because he never fails to overwhelm you with seemingly simple descriptions yet you’ll feel the strength and emotion beneath them at the same time. Reading both The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea is such a huge pleasure I seldom have so I can’t stop praising how wonderful and flawless his writing style is.

Let’s start with the story! Like the first book, this one contained alternative POVs from several characters in the story, but mostly from Ringer’s instead of my favorite Cassie’s.

[Evan & Cassie]

“I found you, but in finding you, I lost myself.”

We know that Cassie and Evan seperated in the end of The 5th Wave, so technically, she was supposed to find him and he was supposed to keep his promise. However, life wasn’t easy particularly in the alien-apocalypse era. As much as she wanted him to come back to her, her determination faltered with the passing of time, and her stress increased gradually. Predictably, Cassie’s faith in him would more or less lost bit by bit when her “friends” didn’t believe in her story about Evan Walker, so she began to doubt whether there was a real human inside him. Despite the struggle, she still managed to stay strong and put her big girl pants on.

I’d forgotten how cruel the Others could be. Not enough to punch a hole through my heart with a bullet. No, first you have to pummel it and stomp on it and crush it in your hands until the tissue oozes from between your fingers like Play-Doh.

As for Evan, it’s actually a relief to see him badly injured AND alive. He showed us that not all aliens downloaded in human bodies was unbreakable and perfect; some of them, like him, was wounded and malfuntioned, and by saying “malfuntioned”, I mean not only his broken body, but also his mindset–the way he chose not to destroy humankinds as the commander ordered–was pinpointed as the ultimate target of Vosch(the commander), which brought out the next part of the story.

Honestly, the last chapter, DUBUQUE, surprised me most, because never did I expect Rick would end the story this way. The scene was so unbelievably beautiful and memorable; the characters might not appear perfect, but the combination of imperfections made it nothing to fastidious about.

[Ringer & Razor]

“Some things, down to the smallest of things, are worth the sum of all things.”

At first I disliked Ringer a lot because of her arrogant and pessimistic attitude toward everything she and her buddies had to face, and because she didn’t believe whatever Cassie told of Evan. I even hated her because she was so proud of building up her own fortress and shutting people who cared about her out. And the way she thought pretending everything was fine could make her feel better when everything wasn’t so at all. In my opinion, she was just avoiding the consequences and being an ostrich the entire time, but the more I knew about her, the less I felt this way.

She went through a lot of experiments in the alien lab and I didn’t like seeing her manipulated like a puppet. Even though she tried hard to fight back, it was apparently in vain. The products of the 5th wave always knew her next step before she took the initiative. So the time she met one of the soldiers, nicknamed Razor, in the building, she fell for punched him in the throat with all the strength she got. Yep, typical Ringer’s style. Thankfully, they became friends afterwards. I mean, c’mon, he even played chess with her, umm, despite the fact that he didn’t know how.

He opens the box, pulls out the board, fumbles with the pieces.
“You got your queens and kings and the prawns and these guard-tower-looking things. How come every piece is like a person except those?”
Pawns, not prawns. A prawn is a big shrimp.”
He nods. “That’s the name of a guy in my unit.”
“Shrimp?”
“Prawn. Never knew what the hell it meant.”

I’m glad Rick spent more chapters from Ringer’s POV here or else I wouldn’t get enough of them. They were adorable together and exchanged many funny banters whenever they chatted. The deeper they felt for each other, the more intimate they interacted.

He brought me from the tomb. He raised me from the dead. He risked his life so I might have mine. Easier to turn aside. Easier to let me go. Easier to believe the beautiful lie than the hideous truth.
“Now we’re even,” I whisper.
“Not exactly,” he says hoarsely. “I only kissed you once.”

What made me extremely heartbroken was the end of their just-the-beginning relationship. Was Razor really dead in the end? I mean, his chest was blown apart, which meant he was dead, right? I just couldn’t wrap my head around that thought!!! Please someone tell me I misunderstood it. That I misinterpreted that phrase. *wailing*
I felt like they were just started to know and explore each other but Razor already made his decision.

[The End]
This is such an impressive series and though I enjoyed the first book more than this one, The Last Star is still my most anticipated book of this year. I have a feeling Rick won’t disappoint all of us and the ending must be both happy and bittersweet. The author gave us some space for imagination and rethink about the essence of humanity and I begin to ponder upon the meaning of the 5th wave, whether those aliens really occupied our bodies without being affected by their original hosts. It’s getting philosophical by the end of this trajectory that even Vosch failed to predict. Highly recommend this book to everyone!

Author:

Hello there! I'm Jasmine and this is my one and only book blog. Reading and reviewing books are my hobbies so I enjoy sharing my passion for them here on my blog. Besides, I mostly read YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age and Dystopian books. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave #2) by Rick Yancey

  1. Hey Jaz,
    I love to read your reviews!!! I try to write a good review on every book I read, but I’m not able to do that, haha.
    Do you have any tip on writing reviews?
    Oh, by the way, you can express in English so well! ๐Ÿ‘ I’m so jealous of you.
    I like to read English books, but my friends at school don’t. It sucks. Do your friends at school also like to read books in English?
    I listened to Halsey’s New Americana from one of your music power up. I’d like to recommend you listen to Color if you haven’t. Color by Halsey is awesome, too! (One of my classmate told me that she didn’t really listen to music. I was like WHO DOES THAT?)
    Remi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks again, lovely Remi! Yes! I’ve loved Color and Castle by Halsey as well! ๐Ÿ˜€ She’s a truly amazing singer. ^^ As for reviews, I simply express what I feel when I’m reading certain parts of the story so it’s totally amateur. ๐Ÿ˜› You can create your own reviewing system or pattern(like what kind of layout you want, what contents you’d like your bookish friends to read, or what formats you’d enjoy reading most) and I’d love to read others’ reviews to see how creative they are. The more you read, the more you’ll get used to it! ๐Ÿ˜€ Practice makes perfect, though. :>
      Unfortunately, my friends in real life don’t read English novels. Maybe one or two of them love to but we have very opposite tastes for books so not much to discuss. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That’s why I enjoy using goodreads and blogging! There are way too many wonderful people here and meeting new friends make me happy(like knowing you as well!).
      Anyway, thanks for liking my reviews or posts! I’d love to share more songs or book recs with you soon. :>

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

