Posted in Young Adults

Review: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo

23437156Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first. (From: Goodreads)

Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”
“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.
“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.
“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.
“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.

Actual rating: 3.5/5 drüskelle stars

The beginning of the story is quite slow but gladly, the Crow Crew’s trip to the Ice Court is a real adventure. Although I wasn’t that into the plot at first, I found myself enjoy the humorous talks among the six main characters. Thus, I think I did like this one. :>

Favorite scene:

“I don’t want to die.”
“I’ll do my best to make other arrangements for you.”
She closed her eyes.
“Keep talking, Wraith. Don’t slip away from me.”
“But it’s what I do best.”
He clutched her tighter. “Just make it to the schooner. Open your damn eyes, Inej.”

There’s no denying that I like the interaction between Kaz and Inej throughout the book very much. Despite the fact that I may not adore Kaz as I expected I would, seeing him soften his temperament when it comes to Inej, the only girl he probably falls for/desires/wants, is definitely something melts my heart immediately.

Favorite character: Inej.
My most favorite part of this book is the characteristics of each character. Every one of them has very strong and impressive personality that makes me hard to forget. Among them, I admire Inej the most. She’s an amazing Wraith, though she doesn’t like this name, she plays a crucial role in the crew and yet stays humble all the time. Every single aspect of her makes her memorable for me and how she deals with Kaz or the way she decides to live just makes her even more irresistible.

Favorite OTP: Kaz x Inej.

“What do you want, then?”
The old answers came easily to mind. Money. Vengeance. Jordie’s voice in my head silenced forever. But a different reply roared to life inside him, loud, insistent, and unwelcome. You, Inej. You.

Hopefully this ship won’t sink in the sequel. I really fancy the idea of them being together.

Overall
I have to admit that the world built in this story is rather extraordinary, and I’m glad I managed to finish this one instead of giving up on it in the slow beginning. However, I’m not sure I actually enjoyed that much during the process. There are many creative and exotic names here and I did find them interesting to know of at first, but the more I realize I can’t pronounce or truly understand them, they sort of confuse me in the end. Perhaps 1 or 2 foreign names/objects are perfect, but not over 5 varieties. Another reason I can’t fully immerse in the story is the alternative POVs. The narratives are not bad, honestly, but there are 6 different people telling the same story and used the 3rd-person POV in it, which just makes me difficult to relate to them.

To sum up, I’m genuinely happy that most of you have loved this book far more than I did, and it indeed was a special experience for me. So if you’re thinking about whether to read this, I suggest you check out the positive points the other readers mentioned and view mine as some personal thoughts. 🙂

Author:

Hello there! I'm Jasmine and this is my one and only book blog. Reading and reviewing books are my hobbies so I enjoy sharing my passion for them here on my blog. Besides, I mostly read YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age and Dystopian books. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day!

3 thoughts on “Review: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo

    1. Haha, it’s indeed hard to understand what’s going on at first but the more you invest in the story, the clearer it becomes. Though the multiple narrators did reduce my excitement for it. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

