Posted in Young Adults

Review: Drop Dead Demons (Divinicus Nex Chronicles #2) by A&E Kirk

15723916Survival. It’s an on-going battle.

GOING ON A TREASURE HUNT…
Aurora Lahey finally knows why supernatural slayers salivate to slaughter her, but how to stop them? Not so much. Sure, she’s discovered her own lethal powers, and has six sexy, super-charged, demon hunting Hex Boys watching her back–the hottest one watching every part of her. But when a seductive stranger delivers a deadly ultimatum, Aurora and the Hex Boys plunge into a do-or-die hunt for a legendary Mandatum treasure, which will finally shift power in their favor. Or unleash hell on earth.

NEX MARKS THE SPOT…
Pursued by demons of mythical proportions, Aurora and the Hex Boys race deeper into the shadowy world of a centuries-old mystery and brutal conspiracy, where no one and nothing is what it seems. Where love and betrayal go hand-in-hand, and trusting the wrong person not only breaks your heart, but gets you killed.

DEMONS ON YOUR TAIL…
Uncovering shocking secrets from the Hex Boys’ past, hiding her Divinicus Nex identity, lying to her pretend-wish-he-were-real boyfriend, dodging demons, breaking into ancient tombs, taking the unexpected side trip to the dark depths of the Waiting World, tracking a traitor, and passing Physics…Aurora could do that in her sleep. Or more likely, die trying.

DON’T GET CAUGHT! (From: Goodreads)

Actual rating: 5+++ fan-bloody-tastic(quoted from Matthias, or Matty) stars!

I know I’ve said this over a million times, but I’m gonna say it again. THIS BOOK IS EXTREMELY AMAZING AND MUCH MORE INTRIGUING THAN THE FIRST ONE, Demons at Deadnight!!!

The story picked up shortly after the cliffhanger in the last book and it was really fast-paced. Lots of twists and unexpected moves from the characters, including our six lovely hexy knights and a smart-mouthed, crazy redhead Babe, Aurora. Of course, the guys’ bickering was funnier and I’d never get tired of their clever comebacks and unstoppably hilarious banters!

“What’s wrong with her?”
“Nothing.” I ran over and snaked an arm around his neck. “Especially now that you’re here, sugar lips.”
My fingers slid into his hair, pulling his mouth against mine. He tasted yummy. Minty. And all mine. But he pulled away.
I planted a bunch of kisses on his face and neck. “Helloooo, gorgeous.”
Blake said, “She must think you’re me.”

I’m so happy that there’s no love-triangle or sex-polygon, umm…according to Aurora’s so-not-helping younger sister, Luna, in this book and she was officially dating Ayden! Yay! Despite the fact that they were really together, my latest hero, Blake, still called her Babe all the time and made some ridiculously stupid jokes in front of the boys, but in my opinion, he was super charming in that way. I think that’s what a team‘s supposed to look like. 😀

“Which one did you give her?” he asked Matthias.
At the sight of me, Matthias shut down the indulgent smile that always surfaced around Selena. “Pride and Prejudice.”
“I love that one,” Blake said. “Heathcliff and Elizabeth were made for each other.”

Yep, this one just confirmed my suspicion that Blake was exceptionally poor at Literature. Have I mentioned that he honestly thought Romeo ended up with Cleopatra? Anyway, that just made me love him more. LOL.

And the swoon-worthy scenes between Ayden and Aurora was taken up a notch in this book! The author just kept me hanging on from one sweet moment to the next; they finally started to take some romance into action and then every time they were always interrupted by someone or something or simply their inexperience or their fear for love.

“Let’s do this.”
“Do what?”
“I’m going to kiss you.”
“Whoa!” My hands flew into the air and I moved to escape. “This is stupid.”
He blocked my path. “Hold on. Not stupid at all. You have a valid point, just give me a minute.” He rolled his shoulders, shook out his arms, rocked on the balls of his feet a few times, took a deep breath, and exhaled slowly. “Okay. I’m ready.”
I frowned. “You have to gear-up to kiss me?”

I’m also fascinated by the Greek mythology and all those awesome-struck gods/goddesses in the story. The author managed to bring Aphrodite, Artemis, Psyche, and Rose into life and even recreated a whole new version of their presences. What’s more, Aurora’s awakening power never failed to stun me all over again. Every time something unbelievable happened, I was like, WOW! This is seriously insane! and I couldn’t control my emotional feeling throughout the entire book.

“Protect yourself!” I said. “They won’t hurt me because they’re working with Rose!”
The closest hound lunged at my throat.
I kicked its head sideways. “Never mind! You can help!”
The demons converged.

Besides, this is also a story about trust and faith. You never know who’s on whose side until the last, fatal minute. And…science. I mean, at least I learned that betrayal is a compound instead of an element.

My own irritation with his behavior started to dissipate. Because his anger wasn’t an element, it was a compound. See, I pay attention in science. An emotional compound of fear, helplessness, and hurt because I didn’t trust him.


Once again, the author left us a delicious cliffhanger and my excitement is about to explode very soon, because anything could happen !

All in all, why not give this series a try? It’s really addictive to me and the plot is getting more and more interesting. Good news is, the next book will be released next month! Hopefully you all can enjoy this funny, light read as much as I do!

Author:

Hello there! I'm Jasmine and this is my one and only book blog. Reading and reviewing books are my hobbies so I enjoy sharing my passion for them here on my blog. Besides, I mostly read YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age and Dystopian books. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day!

3 thoughts on “Review: Drop Dead Demons (Divinicus Nex Chronicles #2) by A&E Kirk

    1. I felt the same when reading the first book, but I think the second one improved a lot, not only the characters were better, but the plot was more interesting. :> So will you read the third book? It’s coming out very soon this month!

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

