Posted in Young Adults

Read-to-Review: Emerge (The Awakening #1) by Melissa A. Craven

25521894Allie Carmichael has always believed life is simple.
You’re born.
You live.
You die.
She has no cause to believe that equation works differently for her, but there has to be a reason the world treats her like a pariah.
When an unexpected move to Kelleys Island brings Aidan McBrien crashing into her life, Allie is thrown by his reaction. He doesn’t shrink from her touch. He doesn’t stutter or make a quick exit. He smiles and welcomes her into his circle of friends, who aren’t exactly comfortable with Allie, but they seem to get her in a way most people don’t.
Finally, Allie has a real shot at normal and rides that high right up to her sixteenth birthday when she wakes in agony—an experience Aidan insists they have all faced. She struggles in ignorance, uncertain of what is real and what isn’t. When she emerges, Allie is different. She has always been different, but even among her extraordinary friends, she and Aidan are special.
As Allie struggles to maintain her tenuous grasp on the power that threatens to overwhelm her, she worries she will lose herself in this strange new world. A dangerous world where she will have to fight tooth and nail to defend the power and freedom that is her birthright.
…only Allie hates to fight.    (From: Goodreads)

**I received an ebook copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.**

There are pros and cons in this book and I’m going to start with my favorite parts about it first.
In the beginning , the female main character, Alexis Ann Carmichael, a.k.a. Allie/Lex, was seemingly an ordinary high school student who escaped moved around the world with her family but she turned out to be a completely different girl after her “Awakening” on her 16th birthday. That is, she was one of the specially chosen immortals on Earth. Thus, that explained why and how she met Aiden accidentally on purpose when she last resided in Kelleys Island. It seemed that there was a certain instinct which drew her to the most powerful equal. However, she had a hard time accepting her true identity and unfortunately, she didn’t have enough time to mourn over her mortality. What I like about the first part of the story is her Awakening, and how amazing Aiden was when he secretly sacrificed himself to absorb all of her unbearable pain during the process in order to heal her faster. Their relationship/friendship was really adorable for me, though Allie was stubborn enough to be with another mortal boy named Vince, the kind of love-triangle in this book didn’t annoy me as usual. Surprisingly, I didn’t find the jealousy, or argument between Aiden and Allie disturbing AT ALL! I guess that’s because they still maintained a nice friendship despite their coldness as well as indifference toward each other.

He began a different melody she didn’t recognize and suspected it was something he composed himself. It was slow and broody and she knew he was talking to her.

All I want to say is that I genuinely hope Allie can eventually choose Aiden over Vince and there are a variety of reasons for it! For starters, he tried to express his deepest feeling for her and took the initiative to show how much he cared for her, but somehow she was extremely stubborn and kept relying on Vince.

“Please don’t cry, Lex.” He settled her on his lap. “Your tears are like a knife in the gut and there’s nothing I can do to make it better.”

I seriously don’t understand why she couldn’t see through everything clearly then. So, yeah, I’ll be on top of the world if they end up together HEA later. 🙂

“I’ll always be here when you need me.”His words echoed Vince’s, but somehow, his carried more weights.

In the middle of this book, I personally think the story was a little bit dragging and too slow-paced. After Allie’s Awakening, all the same species friends and family gathered around her and kept telling her that “Don’t worry. Everything will be okay.”, or “Oh, Allie-girl, you have to brace yourself and be strong.” and blah, blah, blah. The problem is that there were way too many comforts and that just weakened the strength of Allie. I mean, if she could overcome those difficulties on her own or simply with hopefully Aiden’s some people’s help, at least we can see how strong and brave she was. And that’d make her one of the badass heroines we came to love. As a consequence, this is what I dislike about the book. It still had room for improvement, so to speak.

As for the ending , to be honest, I think it was a bit rushed. I was fascinated by the attack from their enemies, and then Allie got rescued after some painful struggling, and just when I thought they were going to map out something huge or revealed an unbelievable truth, the story ended abruptly. To view it differently, I did like the cliffhanger in the end, but apparently, something was definitely missing there. The author left us with many unanswered questions, unsolved problems, and important disclosure for the secret hidden behind Allie’s heirloom. Therefore, I’m looking forward to figuring them out in the next book.

What’s more, I forgot to mention the similarity I found in this book when comparing with the other stories. For example, those collars the enemy used to control Allie’s species(to prevent them from wielding their special gifts) reminded me of the ones in Sarah J. Maas‘s Queen of Shadows. They both had the magic to fully manipulate the victims; only the collars in this book weren’t as powerful as those in QoS. Another familiar idea in the story was the particular skills for the characters. Such as Aiden’s healing power was so much similar to that of Noah Shaw’s in Michelle Hodkin‘s Mara Dyer trilogy. Gladly, although there are many paranormal stories about magic, fantasy, and supernatural phenomena, Melissa a Craven indeed added some originality in this book. She managed to create something entirely unique and that’s what interested me in Allie’s adventure.

All in all, I enjoyed reading this book and most of the time, the plot was intriguing. Regardless of some imperfect details in it, the overall story was kind of creative for me. So I totally recommend it to anyone who loves paranormal (romance) novels and you’ll meet some fantastic (historical) characters here! Last but not least, thanks to the author for offering me this chance to read such a great book and it’s really a nice debut. 😀

Author:

Hello there! I'm Jasmine and this is my one and only book blog. Reading and reviewing books are my hobbies so I enjoy sharing my passion for them here on my blog. Besides, I mostly read YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age and Dystopian books. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day!

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

