Read-to-Review: Autumn in the City of Angels (Autumn #1) by Kirby Howell

17831374What would you do if you lived through the apocalypse? The real fight to survive comes after everyone else is gone.

A plague of epic proportion sweeps the globe, leaving less than one percent of the world’s population immune. Among the living is Autumn Winters, the teenage daughter of a famous actress. When Autumn’s parents don’t come home and the city is overtaken by a dangerous faction, she goes into hiding with a small group of underground survivors. They’re led by a mysterious young man who harbors an unearthly secret, and with whom Autumn feels a deep connection.

Autumn in the City of Angels is the first novel in a series, followed by Autumn in the Dark Meadows and Autumn in the City of Lights.
 (From: Goodreads)

**I received a free ebook copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.**

Actual rating: 1.5/5 stars

I have to be really honest with you guys (otherwise I’ll be guilty if I didn’t do so) and express my feelings as best as I can about this book.

First of all, I think the first part of the book (about 50%) was simply bland. It was like reading someone’s daily routine and the time frame was problematic for me. It seemed that the protagonist spent her time doing very casual stuff after the strange sickness around America and the author simply said “6 weeks later” or “3 months later” or suddenly “half year ago”. I just couldn’t fully relate to the story in this way. The characters were ordinary and nothing special happened at all. I mean, it was just describing an epidemic called the Crimson Fever spreading across the United States and then the angel apocalypse somehow didn’t have anything to do with this whole messy phenomenon.

Second, about the main female character, Autumn Winters, I really don’t like her characteristic because she was too naïve, too coward, and always sat around or locked herself up in her luxurious, highly-secured penthouse on the top floor of that blue building, waiting for rescue. And she was extremely stubborn that she tended to make stupidly bad decisions on impulse. For example, she rushed out of her house the moment she heard the radio broadcast about a safety camp for the immunes, aka survivors in the plague. Just like that!? Just because someone announced that there was a place for them and they could provide all kinds of supplies so she jumped into the trap happily didn’t even think twice before she made such a dangerous decision. Moreover, when “the mysterious boy” suddenly appeared to save her life from being captured by the so-called safety camp, she spilled out everything about her(almost) and where she lived to him? Seriously, how could she be that…bold or should I say, so innocent to trust a stranger in the dark alley without hesitation? I also didn’t like the part when the little love triangle occurred in the beginning. Among Ben, Grey, and Autumn, I couldn’t believe that she could still dream about, think of that boy who came to her rescue and made a promise that he’d get her later under such poor circumstances! I mean, she had slight trouble surviving with her food supplies decreased day by day and then she could have the energy or time to consider romance?! Sorry, I just couldn’t get it.

Third, if you ask me whether there’s possible potential in this story, I think the answer is…yes. Despite the fact that I felt really disappointed about how the story was created, there was at least (and FINALLY) a hopeful cliffhanger in the end of this book. To put it differently, not until about 85% of the story was there actually something worth reading. When Grey revealed his true identity to Autumn and told her more secrets he kept this whole time, that was indeed what caught my attention eventually. I was waiting for that sort of intriguing elements soooooooooooooooooooooo long throughout the book and I was glad there was a tiny twist in the plot; at least, it didn’t leave me a bad impression on this book after all.

Lastly, I just want to say that I only enjoyed some trivial, romantic moments between Grey and Autumn, along with the extraterrestrial stuff mentioned in the end of the book. As for the majority of this story, I’m truly sorry to say that I felt it was a waste of time reading this. For me, it was so similar to a lot of schedules listing a teenage girl’s daily works in an apocalyptic world. In my opinion, there’s a huge room for improvement and I hope the story can be much more imaginative and perhaps it’s a good idea to add some originality in it.

**Thanks to the author for offering me this chance to do my first “read-to-review” challenge.**

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

