Posted in Young Adults

Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. (From: Goodreads)

This is my September monthly challenge and I really love the book. Looking forward to the second one AND the movie will be out in January, 2016! Take a look at the official trailer: The 5th Wave official trailer

Sometimes in my tent, late at night, I think I can hear the stars scraping against the sky.

The only thing I know is that one minute I was trying to learn about this newly-created, apocalyptic world and the next second I was on the last page of the book.

It’s far better than I ever expected. Really remarkable story. So read it, guys!

It’s a story about a girl named Cassie Sullivan who thought she was probably the last human on Earth, alive from the previous 4 waves swept by those aliens. Or “The Others”. Her ultimate mission was to rescue her little brother, Sam, like the way Penryn determined to save her baby sister in Angelfall. I love her toughness and bravery. She would never surrender to her destiny, even if it meant to trust her enemy.

“I am the one not running, not staying, but facing. Because if I am the last one, then I am humanity. And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.”

Fear didn’t shut her down; it woke her up instead.

The family bond is another thing I fell in love with and totally related to in the book. It was the sweetest burden that made you stay strong. Particularly when you realized the promise Cassie made was the one that couldn’t, shouldn’t, and wouldn’t break whatever happened. That was the slim hope Sammy clung to when he was recruited.

“Cassie says it won’t matter what they do,” Nugget says. “They can’t kill all of us.”
“Why can’t they?” Because, kid, I’d really, really like to know.
“Because we’re too hard to kill. We’re invista…investra…invinta…”
“Invincible?”
“That’s it!” With a reassuring pat on my arm.
“Invincible.”

And you know, the story wouldn’t be perfect without a fabulous element of paranormal-romance. Evan Walker and Cassie’s adventurous journey was incredibly exciting. Their secrets and the truth blew my mind. In the meanwhile, it let me know that there was still sheer happiness and maybe sometimes a simple taste of blessing even under the disastrous circumstances. The end is not the end.

When the moment comes to stop running from your past, to turn around and face the thing you thought you could not face—the moment when your life teeters between giving up and getting up—when that moment comes, and it always comes, if you can’t get up and you can’t give up, either, here’s what you do:
Crawl.

Oh, I almost forgot, I think I caught a glimpse of sparks in your eyes when you stared into his eyes, Ringer! Good luck with that!

“…love is a weapon they have no answer for. They know how you think, but they can’t know what you feel.

Author:

Hello there! I'm Jasmine and this is my one and only book blog. Reading and reviewing books are my hobbies so I enjoy sharing my passion for them here on my blog. Besides, I mostly read YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age and Dystopian books. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day!

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

