Review: Half-Blood (Covenant #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

9680718The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck. (From: Goodreads)

Half-Blood matched the end of Daimon very well and that made sense for everything happened in the story. The plot was mainly about Alex’s determination to become a Sentinel, her training with the toughest, strongest, sexiest, one of the best Sentinels personal trainer, Aiden, who was also a Pure, and how she learned the truth about her Mom. My favorite part of the book is those fighting scenes, Alex’s fight with the Daimons in particular. She was really badass, brave, and hard to the core, making her one of my favorite main characters immediately. Moreover, I also like the way Aiden showed his concern for her and their reaction towards something beyond their control, such as the first time Aiden twined his graceful fingers with hers, their first kiss on the mat when Alex was pissed off, or something hotter happened in Aiden’s cottage…
However, there are still some parts I don’t like. For example, I hate it when those Daimons, including Alex’s Mom, trying to drain Alex’s blood until they got her aether(or you can say they almost drained her soul) deep in her body. The way Jennifer L. Armentrout described the whole process made me feel sick, not that I disliked the words, but because I simply couldn’t imagine what the Daimons had done to her body, her own flesh. It was way too cruel, disgusting, and bloodthirsty. Most important of all, I’ve always had a dislike for vampires stories, and I guess that’s why I wanted to stop reading this once I thought it might be a vampire story. BUT I realized that this book was definitely not an ordinary vampire ones, for the other parts were much more meaningful.
Despite the fact that there were some scenes similar to vampire stories, I found that this book wasn’t all about them. They consisted some Greek fables, something related to Gods, and whatnot. Besides, there were some terms in Greek(or Japanese? I’m not sure.) that made the story even more mysterious and I kind of like the unexpected installments.
To sum up, the reason I think this book deserved a 5 stars not because it was flawless, but my favorite parts largely exceed those I dislike. Especially the ending, it was so wonderful, peaceful, and made me forget all the previous terrible moments.
Last but not least, I highly recommend Half-Blood for those who’ve read Daimon and those who haven’t started the series yet. Even if you don’t really like the vampire stuff like me, I firmly believe you’ll fall in love with this once you start reading the first pages. Somehow I have a feeling that maybe not all the vampire stories are that boring.(See how this book changed my stereotype towards vampires!)

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

