Review: End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee

18500665After a daring escape from the angels, Penryn and Raffe are on the run. They’re both desperate to find a doctor who can reverse the twisted changes inflicted by the angels on Raffe and Penryn’s sister. As they set off in search of answers, a startling revelation about Raffe’s past unleashes dark forces that threaten them all.

When the angels release an apocalyptic nightmare onto humans, both sides are set on a path toward war. As unlikely alliances form and strategies shift, who will emerge victorious? Forced to pick sides in the fight for control of the earthly realm, Raffe and Penryn must choose: Their own kind, or each other? (From: Goodreads)

Honestly, I didn’t like this book at first because it was a little bit unrealistic but after I re-read it for about 2 times, I gradually realized what those plots meant and much to my happiness, this book finally grew on me. For me, the best part of the finale was the ending. Although you may think the possibility was quite low, well, almost impossible, they still managed to do it. It’s hard not to spoil anything in this review in that I felt a lot through the characters, so before you start reading this, consider you’re warned…SPOILER ALERT!

I finally took my time re-reading this again and wow, just like the previous books, Susan Ee undoubtedly has a kind of magic that makes me LOVE her books after reading them over and over again. All I can say is: This is such an amazing finale!

Since there are countless wonderful parts in the finale, I can only try to share my most impressive parts of the book with you. Otherwise, it’ll be too spoilery for you! Say, I’ll probably tell you all the story in my review. lol

Well, I know why I couldn’t fully digest everything happened in the book when I first read it because Susan connected the entire plot perfectly with the previous two books. That is, I have to brush up on those long-lost memories from Angelfall and World After before I start this, particularly some small details of the story which may seem unimportant. Guess what? Those parts I initially thought unnecessary turned out to make tremendous changes in the last book. I mean those personal memories Pooky Bear had shown Penryn or all of those scenes included Beliel. Who knew? Such an evil fallen angel would end up someone originally nice and had even done a LOT for the Watchers. Seriously, this book changed 360 degree of my feelings for Beliel.

“They won’t let any part of him fall to the ground,” says Raffe in a quiet voice. “His brothers will keep him from falling.”

Of course, there are TONS of Raffryn scenes in this one and most of them definitely satisfied my original expectation. Honestly, I didn’t expect Raffe would change that much. That’s really unexpected, which is great. He’s no longer that cold-hearted, or heartless angel we used to know; instead, he seems to have a soft and maybe a little bit vulnerable weakness hidden inside his hard exterior. Especially when it comes to Penryn, his lovable, loyal, and brave Daughter of Man. Really, I love every moment they spent with each other and those stolen kisses in totally different, unimaginable settings. My gods, I’ve never felt that strong emotion when they had to separate and went their own way again. (Thank God even though they said hundreds of thousands times goodbye, they didn’t really mean it. 😀 Or perhaps that’s because Penryn had the ability to end up being somewhere she’s not supposed to be.)

“Legendary warriors willing to make legendary sacrifices. We do not ask. We do not choose.”

Oddly, I didn’t find it absurd or confusing about the story when I read it the second time. To put it differently, I literally thought all those cults, creepy ideas Penryn’s Mom had, the way hellions and those Watchers went through Beliel’s BODY to enter/come out of the Pit, or how come Laylah simply popped out from the Resistance Camp and suddenly became a “friend” after what she’d done to Raffe’s wings or worked on Uriel’s revengeful creatures and even those angel pestilence…etc didn’t make sense at all BUT they are all clear to me now. Somehow I figured all the causes and results after reading it for another time.

Trying not to spoil too much, I’ll skip the parts about the ironic talent show(not that the show was ironic but the timing and all the atmosphere wasn’t right, though), really surprising moment when Paige, obviously the Queen of Locusts, fought with the White Streak ALONE, and the unforgettable, gross, as well as unbelievable creatures with a super ancient name, aka “six hundred threescore and six”(Frankly, that’s the first time I’ve heard someone said “threescore” in a modern story. :>), those were really creative and even though they were gory and disgusting(just by thinking of them makes me get goose bumps all over my arms), I think it was in fact a brilliant installment in the book.

As for the ending, I know some readers thought there was something missing or too rushed, but I think it’s actually a perfect ending for this series. Susan did wrap the whole fantastic story up completely without any problem unsolved. Although some scenes may appear a little unrealistic, such as Raffe and Penryn went INSIDE Beliel’s body or how those hellions came out from the small tunnel with a touch of the angel sword, I still love them since I guess that’s the way they worked. Besides, that’s why I’m impressed with Susan’s imagination. 🙂

Lastly, I think the sacrifice Raffe had to make is quite reasonable. I mean, at least other angels didn’t consider him making that decision because of Penryn. And back to my previous doubt and tiny disappointment about how their relationship would be, my biggest concern was that Raffe’s an immortal and Penryn a mortal, the best way I can interpret is: True love conquers everything. That’s not going to be the barrier anymore and I believe they could live a happy life eventually. Live at the present, doesn’t it?

Apparently, the sacrifice Raffe desperately needed to make was all because of LOVE. (I’ve waited for this moment so long and so glad it finally came true.)
WhoSay - image from Lily Collins

Last but not least, I don’t combine songs with stories very much, but there are some that remind me of Raffryn:
Warrior by Beth Crowley You fascinated me
Cloaked in shadows and secrecy
The beauty of a broken angel…
Teach me how to fight
I’ll show you how to win
You’re my mortal flaw
And I’m your fatal sin
Let me feel the sting, the pain, the burn under my skin…
That behind this soft exterior
Lies a warrior

If It Wasn’t For You by Alesso I’d be nothing if it wasn’t for you.

Seasons by Olly Murs All I know is I’m yours, yours, yours, for every season.

And this one for their future:
Imagination by Shawn Mendes In my dreams you’re with me
We’ll be everything I want us to be
And from there, who knows?
Maybe this will be the night that we kiss for the first time
Or is that just me and my imagination?

We walk, we laugh, we spend our time
Walking by the ocean side
Our hands are gently intertwined
A feeling I just can’t describe

All this time we spent alone, thinking we could not
Belong to something so damn beautiful
So damn beautiful

To sum up, I highly recommend this series to anyone who haven’t started it yet or those hesitate about whether to read it or not. Trust me, this is really worth reading. At least it’s definitely a wonderful adventure with awesome characters and plots for you to take a ride.

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

