Posted in Young Adults

Review: The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon

the law of MosesIf I tell you right up front, right in the beginning that I lost him, it will be easier for you to bear. You will know it’s coming, and it will hurt. But you’ll be able to prepare.

Someone found him in a laundry basket at the Quick Wash, wrapped in a towel, a few hours old and close to death. They called him Baby Moses when they shared his story on the ten o’clock news – the little baby left in a basket at a dingy Laundromat, born to a crack addict and expected to have all sorts of problems. I imagined the crack baby, Moses, having a giant crack that ran down his body, like he’d been broken at birth. I knew that wasn’t what the term meant, but the image stuck in my mind. Maybe the fact that he was broken drew me to him from the start.

It all happened before I was born, and by the time I met Moses and my mom told me all about him, the story was old news and nobody wanted anything to do with him. People love babies, even sick babies. Even crack babies. But babies grow up to be kids, and kids grow up to be teenagers. Nobody wants a messed up teenager.

And Moses was messed up. Moses was a law unto himself. But he was also strange and exotic and beautiful. To be with him would change my life in ways I could never have imagined. Maybe I should have stayed away. Maybe I should have listened. My mother warned me. Even Moses warned me. But I didn’t stay away.

And so begins a story of pain and promise, of heartache and healing, of life and death. A story of before and after, of new beginnings and never-endings. But most of all…a love story. (From: Goodreads)

Gratitude works best when you’re the one feeling it.

I chose only one song for this book because I couldn’t find anything else more suitable than Chantal Kreviazuk-Today.
The Law of Moses is a story told from the viewpoint of an extremely talented artist and this book enables me to notice beautiful things in the mundane world.

Moses had the ability to bring life into the dead he somehow connected with and painted them in canvas, trying to capture their most unforgettable moments in life before they passed away. Of course, not everyone appreciated his behavior. Some loved them and came visit him, paying for his works, just wanting to have something valuable to remember their late beloved ones. Others simply didn’t believe his special talent, which he was able to see those dead people’s memory when they showed him willingly. And still someone decided to frame him by planting the mysterious disappearances of teenage, blonde, happened in mid-July girls in Utah on him.

Obviously, the time frame of the story was quite long, separated by BEFORE and AFTER and the FUTURE. The most impressive parts of the story is that I can directly feel Georgia’s, the small-town girl who loved Moses at the first sight and had persistent patience for him, emotions when she was hurt, pushed away, totally broken. The words Amy Harmon used were so strong and vivid that made my heart aches and I uncontrollably cried my eyes out at about 60~75% of the book, almost drowning in my own pool of tears.

Amazingly, words are way too much powerful than I initially thought. I shed tears for Georgia’s lost, for her consistent hope that Moses might come back to her one of those days instead of 7 years later by accident, and for her suffering during those tough years. She was by far the most optimistic girl I’ve even known, and that was why she could always look on the brightest side of life even when the reality was meant to tear her apart. I learned from her that keeping in mind to have a grateful heart and listing the 5 greats whenever you’re upset or feel frustrated in life.

I love the profound meaning the story tried to tell us and the author perfectly interpreted those abstract concepts to the readers, yet there was something to be desired. It seemed like much more things happened in the end and the author wrapped them up in such a rush to me. Even though the mystery was solved and they[Moses and Georgia] led a happy life eventually, that last part was a little out of the point for me. I mean, I was so absorbed in the story before and it didn’t turn out as flawless as I expected. Not exactly disappointed, but there was something missing.

Overall, I enjoyed reading this story and here are my 5 greats:
My family, who loves me unconditionally without asking anything in return.
My friends, both friends from real life and friends on Goodreads, thanks to the latter who recommend amazing books to me and discuss them with me.
English, I’m still very blissful that I got a chance to have a passion for this beautiful language.
Books, for broadening my horizon.
Life, for allowing me to experience everything in person.

Highly recommend to everyone because it’s not only just lessons of life, but a book you can totally relate to, feel it, and have the kind of emotion that’s hard to wash away.

Author:

Hello there! I'm Jasmine and this is my one and only book blog. Reading and reviewing books are my hobbies so I enjoy sharing my passion for them here on my blog. Besides, I mostly read YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age and Dystopian books. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day!

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

