Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

a court of thorns and rosesWhen nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever. (From: Goodreads)

                           What a wonderful & fabulous & interesting story!

Oh, this book is just…wow, I can’t believe I didn’t pick this up earlier. It was far beyond my expectation and it was so, so, so much better than I initially thought. That is, I had trouble putting it down once I started. The story was extremely intriguing; the characters were incredibly unforgotten, and the settings were beautifully written. In my opinion, I think A Court of Thorns and Roses is a combination of Beauty and the Beast (I mean, it’s quite obvious that Feyre the human and her generous captor Tamlin the High Lord in the faerie world is such an OTP, just like Belle and the Beast.) and Giacomo Puccini’s final opera, Turandot (especially the riddle-solving part from the High Queen, Amarantha, she’s same as Princess Turandot, whose heart is cold and cruel.)

At first, what I didn’t get it was why the captor, aka the High Lord of Spring Court, Tamlin, would treat his prey Feyre, who killed his friend out of hatred mercilessly, so well. As if she was a precious guest instead of a captive, or a prisoner? He not only offered her all she needed including living in an opulent palace-like manor but also took good care of her impoverished family. It didn’t really make sense to me then; was it because of the Treaty between faeries and mortals? Or something else? Frankly, if that was the case, I’d rather be abducted by those faeries so that both my family and I could get out of poverty and we wouldn’t have to worry about our next meal under such circumstances. Much to my relief, when I read about the half of the book, my complicated thoughts were vanished because Tamlin told Feyre the reasons why he wouldn’t harm her family or her.

I want you here, where I can look after you—where I can come home and know you’re here, painting and safe.

Undoubtedly, what I love about the book is Feyre and Tamlin’s slow development in their relationship, and that’s very satisfying. In particular, not until Feyre knew the long kept secrets among faeries and determined to save him did I truly admire and love her. I love how far she’d risk for Tamlin, regardless of tricky and deceitful Amarantha’s torture, or various humiliation as well as shameful laughter from faeries in Under The Mountain. That’s exactly what defines a true heroine.

I was as unburdened as a piece of dandelion fluff, and he was the wind that stirred me about the world.

Among all their moments alone, my favorite scene was their dancing in the celebration of Summer Solstice. That moment was so well depicted, so unbelievably peaceful, and so genuinely expressed feelings for each other. Vivid enough, as though I could see their elegant, graceful, and passionate dancing movements, waltzing before me.

“My father once told me that I should let my sisters imagine a better life—a better world. And I told him that there was no such thing.” I ran my thumb over his mouth, marveling, and shook my head. “I never understood—because I couldn’t … couldn’t believe that it was even possible.” I swallowed, lowering my hand. “Until now.”

Asides from Tamlin, there was someone special who gradually grew on me; he was the High Lord of Night Court, and was considered to be Amarantha’s Whore—the handsome, violet-eyed Rhysand. He was as mysterious as he could be around Amarantha, the faerie court, and in front of Feyre. He once mentioned “Amarantha has her game to play, and he has his.” I was surprised when he helped Feyre fulfill her tasks, especially in her second task.

It took me a long while to realize that Rhysand, whether he knew it or not, had effectively kept me from shattering completely.

At the time Feyre arrived in Amarantha’s throne court, she was asked to complete 3 tasks on the full moon and I like her first one the most. She indeed showed her huntress spirit and her intelligence in finding a way out without being devoured by the huge, gross worm. If it weren’t for those gory, bloody, and brave decisions she made, I wouldn’t give 5 stars to the book.

How can I draw an end to my already-too-long review without mentioning another crucial role in Tamlin’s court, namely Lucien? He was an emotional guy who also had a lot of dark secrets buried deep down in his mind when it came to Amarantha or Rhysand’s presence. Even though Feyre killed his companion, he might want her dead initially, but it was a relief that he changed his mind later. I think it was sort of mutual trust and feelings for both Lucien/Tamlin and Feyre to finally understand the good side of their own kinds.

“Because I’d want someone to hold my hand until the end, and awhile after that. That’s something everyone deserves, human or faerie.”

Although the story was breathtakingly awesome, there is just a little to be desired. In my viewpoint, Feyre’s third task from Amarantha was pretty predictable. I mean, for a cold-blooded High Queen like her, who enjoyed torturing innocent people, watching them die slowly, and seeing them cry out painfully, she would definitely wanted Feyre to do something against her will. Besides, the solution to the riddle was sort of easy to guess for me. Of course, not because the riddle was a piece of cake, but because that was the most powerful thing beyond magic, even for Amarantha. Other than these two points, this book was perfect for me.

Last but not least, here’s a simple playlist for this book, hope you like it!
*For Tamlin X Feyre:
Ed Sheeran-Photogragh
Gabrielle Aplin-The Power of Love: this is a slight hint for the solution of Amarantha’s riddle.
*For Feyre:
Imagine Dragons-Warriors
Imagine Dragons-Bleeding Out
*For Rhysand(Night Court):
Coldplay-A Sky Full of Stars
*For Amarantha:
The Weeknd-Devil May Cry

All in all, I enjoy reading the story about faeries and mortals as much as most of you do, so thanks for your constantly recommending and praising for the book. I have a good impression on the first Sarah J. Maas’s book I read so I’ll keep trying her other works later. If you haven’t read this book, I’d like you to give it a shot and explore Feyre & Tamlin’s world.

Don't be shy! Just leave a comment! :-)

